Nils' notes

ReactJS tutorials

I list here some tutorials I think could be useful to learn ReactJS. I didn't pass completely any of it because I forced myself to start production code before this in Feb'22, surrendering to self-imposed pressures and trusting in solving per-case issues with my web dev experience and co-workers' orientations. I advanced the most at #2 and #3 which I recommend first if you have a lot of previous experience with another SPA JS framework.

I may update this info with new content and update about each entry later, meanwhile, I include some notes on each based on what I know about the sources.

The current order is not a recommended sorted path, check each note to decide.

Version 18: A lot of content out there is not updated with v18 (latest major version at the moment I wrote this), but as far as I can tell today1, it's safe for most of projects to learn v17, specially if they are currently using it, but mostly if the structure of the tutorial seems a good fit for you, and learn about the upgrade later. If the project already upgraded to v18, take the selected tutorial anyway and check the breaking changes of the release and the upgrade guide.

List of tutorials:

  1. ReactJS Tutorial for Beginners by James Hartman (@guru99)

    • Introductory one page (aprox. 35 printed pages), useful for newbies, seems very updated. I used this author's writings in the past with content I'm not familiarized with and was useful.
  2. Official docs(which start with a "Getting Started" and "Main Concepts" sections) and tutorial

    • Maybe seems obvious to point it out, but sometimes we take for granted we should start elsewhere and this tutorial is very complete. However, and maybe it's just me, I had a lot of trouble at first to follow it in order while understanding main concepts. Sometimes I pause and search for specific articles with some of the concepts or specific JavaScript features in the specs and/or MDN I didn't use too much before and are basics here. e.g. "Destructuring assignment".
  3. The React Beginner's Handbook by Flavio Copes

    • 40 pages
    • Also check this web version.
    • I strongly recommend this author's books as introductory material on the web and JS ecosystem. He claims you'll "learn in 20% of the time the 80% of a topic", but even if you disagree, he focus the writing in that direction, and was very lightning to me at least with the NodeJS book.
    • Flavio is a contributor to the official core concepts docs for NodeJS.
  4. Microsoft Learning Path "Creating your first web apps with React"

    • Very well structurated in 3 modules.
  5. Pluralsight Learning Path "Building Web Applications with React"

    • Very well structurated long path with 16 courses of multiple authors.

  1. 2022-07-03

#reactjs #reference